New York, October 24, 2003 – The National Television Academy announced the winners of the 2003 Technology and Engineering Emmy® Awards and the first-ever Advanced Media Technology Emmy® Awards on Thursday, October 23, 2003 during a black-tie dinner ceremony at the Plaza Hotel in New York City.

The Technology & Engineering Emmy® Awards honor excellence in development and innovation in broadcast technology. Launched in 1948, the annual event recognizes companies, organizations and individuals for breakthroughs in technology that have a significant effect on television engineering. The Advanced Media Technology Emmy® Awards, with two new categories, were created to recognize work being done in Interactive Television, New Media and related programming and technology.

“This year’s awards recognize the technological advancements that have extended the reach and universality of television,” said Peter O. Price, president of the National Television Academy. “They also recognize emerging technology which is reshaping the programming and viewing experience of the consumer.”

Twelve Emmy®s were awarded for Outstanding Achievement in Technology and Engineering in the following categories:

Pioneering Efforts in the Development of Automated, Server-Based Closed Captioning Systems:

Turner Networks

Pioneering Development of Digital Modulator Adaptive Pre-Correction for ATSC 8VSB Digital Transmitter Systems:

Thales Broadcast & Multimedia

Development And Application Of Sub-Pixel Imaging Devices For Television Cameras:

Thomson Broadcast & Media Solutions

Development of Surround Sound for Television:

Dolby Laboratories, Jim Fosgate, and Peter Scheiber

Pioneering Development of mass-produced digital reflective imaging technology for consumer rear projection television:

Texas Instruments DLP Products

Coding Technology for Optical Recording Formats:

Dr. Kees Immink

Technology to simultaneously encode multiple video qualities and the corresponding metadata to enable real-time conformance and / or playout of the higher quality video (nominally broadcast) based on the decisions made using the lower quality proxies:

Pinnacle Systems (Montage) and Thomson Broadcast & Media Solutions (Philips)

Two Emmy®s were awarded in the new Advanced Media Technology categories. The winners were compiled by the independent accountancy firm of Lutz and Carr, LLP, and are as follows:

The Emmy® for Outstanding Achievement in Advanced Media Technology for the Enhancement of Original Television Content, recognizing work in areas of Advanced Media Technology that enhance or improve programming intended for delivery and display by traditional broadcast means, including: network, cable and satellite distribution was presented to:


The Emmy® for Outstanding Achievement in Advanced Media Technology for the Creation of Non-Traditional Programs or Platforms, recognizing work developed for delivery and display by non-traditional and or non-linear programming, including: Systems, EPG’s, User Interfaces, one-screen or two screen applications, CD-ROM, DVD, computer and video games with broadcast components, etc. was presented to:

iO Interactive Optimum Digital Cable Service from Cablevision


The National Television Academy, whose total dedication is excellence, is a professional service organization for all aspects of the Television, Cable and Satellite industries. Its symbol of excellence, the Emmy®, is awarded in six major national categories including Sports, News/Documentary, Daytime, Technology/Engineering, and International (through its International Academy). Local Emmy®s are given in nineteen regions across the United States. Beyond awards, the Academy has extensive educational projects, scholarships, publications, and major activities of impact to both industry professionals and the viewing public itself. For more information, please visit the website at